Anyone here play any instruments/have played? If so how hard was it to learn?

critter74

Contributor
Role
  1. Other
Honestly just curious to see some other musicians on here and thought this would be a fun discussion starter (bonus points if you are a sax player hehe totally not biased btw)

Reactions: Bbypoco, diaperdude and Cottontail
I took piano lessons when I was young and played trombone for years. And I sing.
Recently picked up the kalimba!

Reactions: Cottontail and critter74
I played a bit of guitar when I was younger and also bought a bass guitar a few years back and got pretty decent at it but stoped playing after 2 years or something. I’m trying to get back into it because I would love to be able to play them well but I’m too impatient to practice. Maybe one day…

Reactions: critter74
I played clarinet and alto sex in elementary school, then oboe, English horn, a little bit of bassoon, and tube/sousaphone in later years. During high school, I also worked as a wedding musician. I kept up sousaphone through college (university) and was in the marching band. It was all a lot of fun. When my dad passed away a few years ago, he bequeathed to me a nice flamenco guitar, and I'm hoping to learn. I just have way too many hobbies!

TrueHero said:
I took piano lessons when I was young and played trombone for years. And I sing.
Recently picked up the kalimba!
Yooo that’s awesome!! Kalimba looks so fun to play but the ones I’ve seen seem so tiny I imagine I’d get hand cramps trying to play one lol. Good luck on your journey of learning kalimba, I’m sure you’ll be a great player!!

Reactions: TrueHero
I have played trombone since I was 12. Have played in orchestras, jazz bands, done musicals.... I love it's versatility. I don't play as much any more, life kind of gets in the way, but I still practice. As for how hard - well it's all relative I think. Sometimes you need to practice a lot, sometimes it comes easy.

Reactions: TrueHero and critter74
Cottontail said: