Old computer is gasping for breath, dying fast...

Status
Not open for further replies.

DiaperedKhajiit

Da Sha Purr Ki
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
  2. Other
I can't play around as I would prefer, so thought it best to just come right out and ask plainly-
As someone who doesn't understand the first thing about how these Black Magic Boxes (ie, Computes), work? The one I've been using for nearly six years is literally dying in front of me. It's a custom built unit from a very knowledgeable technician in my town, but sadly, he shuttered his business last year (yay COVID). Now, I have no one within a fifty mile radius of me that I 'Know', much less trust with this thing.
I realize PC's don't usually have a long life span and was already saving up my $$$ to (have my trusty Tech.) build me another. Now that is off the table, forever.
I will not use any of the 'Big Box Stores' for this. Been there, been raped, will never do it again.
Anyone have any advice for folks who need a trusted source for this? If I must out-source my $$$ I don't want to be wrung through the wringer with a scam.
Anyone use such a service, where we can actually talk to a living person (that understands and can speak English coherently? No, I'm not racist, but DELL taught me just how futile THAT exercise can be)? I live in the U.S. of A., West Coast, but heck, if I'm talking over a telephone I suppose that's not a biggie, as I'm going to have to deal with shipping regardless. I'm HUGE on value/dependability and most of all: GOOD SERVICE! I don't want to buy a new anything, then hear nothing but silence on the other end if there's a problem. :)
I do not need or want the latest, greatest, up-to-the-datest lightspeedfast PC. I play some games but nothing crazy/new or heavy in HD/tech (to my knowledge). I DO write, and wanted to get into digital art, so need something that I can 'Grow into' for awhile.

That's it, sorry for the long rambling post.