Mommy for hire opinions?

Punku

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Adult Baby
  2. Little
***this is not an ad***

Long story short, mommy’s sister is considering being a mommy for hire. She’s not into the lifestyle but understands the struggles we go through trying to find a caregiver.

I’ve personally never tried it and wanted to hear other’s experiences. If you wouldn’t mind sharing it would be appreciated.

If this is inappropriate I apologize and will delete the post.

I've been hiring caregivers for more than 30 years. Your mommy's sister is quite right; finding that special person to handle your AB needs can be a genuine struggle. I think the prospective mommy's expectations are the key consideration.

For example, I don't know how much she's accustomed to making per hour doing whatever sort of work she's been doing, but most ABs won't want to pay that much. I realize that's a ridiculous sentence, but it's the truth. The majority of ABs are ... well, parsimonious. Many don't make a lot of money and have little to spare, which is why they've never hired anyone to care for them.

For the healthcare professionals and nanny-types I've found, the going rate seems to be about $20-$30 per hour. Professional nannies with nursery furniture, equipment and supplies can charge several hundred dollars an hour, but getting the nursery together is not an investment for the faint of heart.

For the AB, caregiving is progressive rather than regressive ... once you have it, you want it again and again. This is a positive for your sister, if she can charge accordingly.