Being IC as a child.

greatlake5

Profoundly incontinent since the beginning.
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
I'm profoundly IC and have been since the beginning. The cause of my IC is irrelevant. Suffice to say that I see my doctor regularly and my condition is "steady." As a child, I never was able to potty train. Frustrated my mother and also me. I live in a family of bedwetters (all my siblings). Unfortunately I was the only one that never got the hang of it. I also dirtied my diaper all the time. That was the hardest thing, for my mom and for me. I was sent a private school all the way until I graduated high school. Both my parents and my siblings were extremely understanding. I was never punished. But of course, there were problems when I was younger. In the beginning I had a couple of other students who tried to pick on me. We lived in a very progressive school and it was never allowed. They even expelled one kid who kept trying to screw with me. After that, most of the other students seemed to understand and actually became friends with me. I know other IC people when young had a tough time growing up. I certainly understand that. And I don't want this to sound like life was all peachy. It wasn't. Anyone who grows up as a kid and have to wear diapers, they're going to have problems. But for the most part, diapers, wetting and messing, they weren't going to kill me. Until I graduated from university I still have issues when it comes to dating. Like most IC people, it can be managed. If only I could get comfortable with girls. I do have female friends. Just not girlfriends.
Some day? As for my childhood, I think it couldn't have been better. Maybe if it was me being just a normal kid. Thank god diapers didn't screw me up completely.

Reactions: Diprs2, chiaochai, Finny and 2 others