Working without what you actually studied.

greatlake5

Profoundly incontinent since the beginning.
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
I have a young girl who works in my office. She graduated with a law degree but works at my office. I'm sure she just haven't taken the bar exam yet but she seems happy with what she does now. She probably makes more money than most lawyers.

I graduated my MBA degree (Northwestern University, Kelloggs School of Management) and manage my company. I think half of my employees have degrees that has nothing to do with what they studied. I'm just curious about what you do and what you studied or graduated for.

Reactions: perlFerret
I may be the perfect example of this. The only degree I have is an A.A. Liberal Arts. Job hopped for a few years in entry level jobs into the late 90’s and landed a IT deskside job in 2007 with only 6 years help desk experience and no formal training. 6 weeks later the system admin walked out and it was trial by fire for the first year, 15 years later and 2 buyouts I’m still in the IT department. Still with no formal training. A degree does not equate to intelligence, the ability to learn and adapt does. A degree will only get your foot in the door to an interview in lieu of experience.

Reactions: Deleted member 57387 and perlFerret
I have a colleague who dropped out of college as an undergrad and now has one official and one honorary Ph.D.

I, myself, have a Bachelor of Business Administration degree but I do software engineering. My mate has a degree in Art History and she sells upcycled toys for a living.

I'm hoping, once we do move to Quebec, I'll be able to enroll in a Master's program for Computer Science.

Last edited:
Engineering degree, but work in the death/funeral industry, as well as freight shipping on the side.