Trying to be a good mommy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arashi

Contributor
Role
So recently my boyfriend has been trying to be little a lot more often when he's home or has a long weekend with days off from work. While I'm perfectly fine with changing him and (attempting, I'm still learning) to treat him like my baby boy, I have a couple questions that I've brought up with him and we have talked a little about these but he didn't really know how to answer them. My first question is "Does my ability to take care of you (ie my bf) affect how good of a mother I will be to our future children?" - let me clarify this by saying that I'm a long ways off from actually having kids and want to get my mental state under control and make sure I can take care of myself before I even think about bringing a child into this world. My second question "I already try to talk to him like he's little and this might just take practice but is there anything I can do to kind of...get into the mind set of being a mommy?"

Thanks for reading!
Arashi

Inside he is little, he feels little... look past the man in front of you to the little guy inside of him... talk to him... the little guy, he will love it, he will love you.

Reactions: DippyDawg and siysiy
Really good question. And thank you for sharing.

Also well done for being willing to take on the caregiver role for your BF and giving him space to regress and have Little space.

This is just my opinion and you will while your bf is havering Little space time, I would talk to him as if he is a toddler.

Keep what you are saying in short sentences with simple words.

Think first, next, than. Or First, then.

Ie. First we are going to get you dressed. Next we are we are going to get you breakfast. Then you can play.

Or first, then

First we need to choose a Disney film to watch. Then we can have cuddles.

You will make mistakes as a caregiver so don't worry, just remember to talk things through at the end.