Need help with getting rid of nasty taste off of pacifier

Littleone91

Contributor
Role
  1. Little
I just bought brand new pacifiers from Amazon and I washed them and hot water and soap for 30 minutes I took them out rinse them off really well but for some reason my pacifiers tastes horrible. I soak them in mouthwash for over half an hour and they still tastes horrible what do I do? How do I get rid of a nasty taste?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210803-203937.png
    Screenshot_20210803-203937.png
    297.1 KB · Views: 6
  • Wow
Reactions: KrankyPants
DanielW said:
Are they silicone or latex? Neither should have a bad flavor, but all that soap and mouthwash isn't going to help. Best to return them. If you want to sterilize a pacifier, you should do it properly.
This is my first time buying a pacifier online. I usually just buy children ones at Walmart. They are silicone pacifiers.

DanielW said:
Silicone should not have a taste or odor at all even if they haven't been washed thoroughly. It may be a bad batch made with industrial silicone which could have a chemical taste odor like the smell of gas or oil.

What did yours taste or smell like before the whole soap and mouthwash thing?

they should be just like the children's versions you are used too - no flavor
It did not have a smell to them I did not put one in my mouth before I washed it I was told I should wash them before I put one in my mouth.

DanielW said:
If they didn't have a strong smell, BEFORE, they are probably just tasting like soap and mouthwash now then. I'd suggest NOT using soap or mouthwash Plain, hot water, not boiling. Let them air-dry over night and see if it helps. If not, try a bit of baking soda and water if you have any in the cupboard (don't use it from the fridge, it will taste bad) and rinse with hot water.

If you want to clean new pacifiers in the future, I'd suggest you remove the nipples and steam sterilize them the first time, and then rinse under hot water as needed.