Eye glasses advise please vairifocals

NappiedTruckDriver

Padded Truck driver
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
  2. Incontinent
I’ve been using glasses for driving and reading for the last 4 years ( 2 separate pairs ) as I have an astigmatism in right eye and the usual old age effects as I’m 48 this year .
In the last few months I’ve noticed my long vision sight is getting worse with out glasses on and stuff even 10ft 3m away is getting like a heat haze affect in certain light levels, also if I try to distance look with nothing in foreground close to me I can only look at it for 10/20 secs tops before I have to look at the ground as my eyes hurt .
Yes I’ve got an eye test booked 8th April with my opticians and will mention said things , also asking about wearing distance FT
My question is this does any one use vairifocals and what’s the pro’s & con’s ?
I drive a Semi (Artic) truck for a living
Contacts are a big no for me due to phobia of them and cost

Reactions: Edgewater
Welcome to getting older
I hate my astigmatism
I also need to switch from single vision to some sort of hybrid
I can't comment on vairifocals as I haven't used them
But I highly recommend seeing an ophthalmologist over an optometrist
They know much more about eyes.
They can also give you glasses prescription just like optometrist but more knowledgeable on eye health and things like astigmatism & strabismus etc

• Love
Reactions: Edgewater
SparkyDog said:
Welcome to getting older
I hate my astigmatism
I also need to switch from single vision to some sort of hybrid
I can't comment on vairifocals as I haven't used them
But I highly recommend seeing an ophthalmologist over an optometrist
They know much more about eyes.
They can also give you glasses prescription just like optometrist but more knowledgeable on eye health and things like astigmatism & strabismus etc