What Has Changed In Oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kite

Est. Contributor
Role
Diaper Lover, Diaperfur, Carer
can anyone explain to me how the price of gasoline/petrol went from $4.15+ down to nearly $3.70 in a month or why the price went from $1.43 in july of 2002 to where it is now?

Role
Private
Apparently, we've pass our "Peak Oil" point.

It was so cheap before because our supply could easily meet our demand. We had enough reserves to last. Now we've past this point, our demand is increasing but our supply is decreasing. We can't produce gas at such a rate that it meets the demand, hence it drives the price up.

Then again, I'm no expert on economics. It's just something I've heard in passing.

kite

Est. Contributor
Role
that would make since if production hadn't changed or if they couldn't produce more. they can, but then that would make prices drop. china has come into play, but america is still the largest user of oil in the world so it doesn't make sense to me.

Darkfinn

Banned
Role
Diaper Lover, Incontinent,
Long story short... it's all about speculation and the value of the US dollar.

You see... oil is traded on the international market as a commodity... and the only currency that oil is traded in is US dollars. When the idiots on capitol hill started spending billions and billions on this stupid war they started racking up a defecit... spending in the red in other words. To gain the necessary capital to continue operations and try to stimulate the economy (b/c of the home mortgage market failure) the US govt borrowed money from many other nations around the world. This defecit spending has massively devalued the dollar on the international market.