Tax write off for diapers as medical expense

nikthewerelion

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
  2. Diaperfur
  3. Incontinent
Hey guys, this is a question only for people in the United States. I was wondering if anybody knows how easy it is to deduct the cost of your diapers as an out-of-pocket medical expenses on your tax form. I do know that you need receipts to prove what you spent and that it needs to be a certain percentage spent of your income for the whole year, but that’s all I really know. I have never done this before and don’t exactly know how easy this is going to be or what the benefits would be to me any help with this would be welcome because if this is realistically going to be able to get me back more money then I am willing to try it but if it’s not really going to do a whole lot for me or it’s a giant pain in the ass then I don’t know if I really want to bother thanks for the info

There are two questions to be answered:
1. Do your medical expenses for the year exceed the required percentage of income to qualify as a write off?
2. If so, does filing 1040 long form with Schedule A provide more benefit than the standard deduction?
If you answer yes to both, then enter your total medical expenses (including incontinence supplies, OTC meds, etc.) on Schedule A.

If you have reasonable health insurance, it can make it difficult to answer yes to the first question. In 25 years of permanent disability, with thousands of dollars spent annually on medical bills, I have qualified only once for the medical write off. Even as I am about to start Social Security and Medicare, it will be difficult to meet the required minimum. High priced, non-insured medical expenses are what typically gets you into the write off territory.