Stories Help/Guidance Thread

kerry

ADISC Stories Mod
Staff
Role
Little, Incontinent
Hi, all,

This is your friendly neighborhood Stories Mod with a new thread in which I am offering to give you basic help and guidance with things that come up in your writing. I find that I repeat the same advice a lot in PMs and in individual threads, so I thought it might be a good idea to create a home for it where everyone can find it easily and where anyone can ask anything that seems confusing.

As to my credentials: I am a writer just like you. I have written quite a lot. You would not have heard of me--yet (I'm working to alleviate that)--but I do know whereof I speak. Further, I am a writing teacher, and I have been for over three decades, guiding thousands of individuals through the process of becoming better at this creative art.

What advice I offer here will not be meant to be directive; these are your stories, after all, to do with as you please. I'm just a guide. Nor am I offering to do one on one conferences with each piece; that would be prohibitively time consuming. Rather, I am offering general feedback and response that would help the entire community based on what I read and what you might ask. And, should you happen to ask a very specific question about a very specific issue in your story that would not require me to spend all night with it, I will also be happy to work with you on that. :)

As I have stated, this is an offer. Perhaps no one will desire to take me up on it, and that will be fine: I have many other things to fill up my time. But I volunteered to take on this position because I believed I could make a difference, and this is one way that I think I can.

If you would like to discuss or ask about anything in particular, just post your question in this thread. If you want to link to a specific comment/chapter, please do so, or maybe copy and paste as appropriate.

Meanwhile, enjoy the stories: we have a wealth of riches to feast on.