Sailing and incontinence... My dream is to eventually sail away...but I wonder how deal with diapers while doing it.

Raven801

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
Just wondering if anyone else has dealt with this situation...granted I think the only option would be cloth diapers..... But my concerns go a bit further than that as a swim suit hides nothing and you would have to hang stuff up to dry which could be....not good LoL šŸ˜‚ just thinking aloud.

• Love
Reactions: Edgewater
My family and now just my dear wife and I have been sailing and dealing with my IC for well over 30 years onboard. Being in Port (harbor) is a bit difficult, but not impossible as most male shorts can be large enough to cover, add a baggy shirt and it all works.

Have used cloth diapers the vast majority of time. Washing while underway, the name escapes me at the movement, but it is a can of size with openings and fins that causes it to spin. Attach it to a dock line and drag it behind the sailboat works great. Drying under way is fast and also easy as one simply attach the diapers to the out-haul line that runs along the boom. The combination of being underway, natural wind and a fast drying time. Most all marines have a laundry and that handles things while in port.

Enjoying life onboard a sailboat is commonly 15 to 25 miles out in the Great Lakes where the powerboats are very near the shoreline to maybe 5 miles out.

Reactions: CLPP, greatlake5, BlueHama and 1 other person
It would depend on wether you are alone on the boat or family or a whole crew and where you are sailing.

Reactions: Edgewater and Raven801
I have owned and lived aboard sailboats my whole life, I currently have a truant 33 pilot house. I wear diapers during long trips. I just double bag them and stow them in a deck locker until I get to a place I can dispose of them.20220916_100326.jpg

• Love
  • Wow
Reactions: NotTheAverageMan, Deleted member 77157, littlefun and 14 others