Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Adult Baby
  2. Diaper Lover
  3. Babyfur
  4. Diaperfur
  5. Little
  6. Carer
Ive been using the same Alienware desktop computer for close to 7 years now with really no issues (i upgraded the video card from a GTX 780 to a GTX 1070) I run almost all games at full graphics at fine FPS but....I feel like I really should upgrade. My problem is I have heard it is much much cheaper to build your own instead of buying it pre-built but i have zero know-how when it comes to building computers. Sadly I don't live near any of my friends who actually could probably build one for me.

It is usually cheaper to build your own and it's not as difficult as it sounds but you have to make sure that all the components to the case, cooling, motherboard and everything else are compatible. I build my own PC whenever I want an upgrade, but i have several years experience of building pc's in a friends business.

yeah the only thing ive ever REALLY done myself was switch a video card and maybe RAM. There are just so many factors to consider that it makes my head hurt lol. I mean like, does this CPU work with this motherboard and this power supply, etc. Thats why i wish I had local friends that actually could do this

Well to start with do you prefer Intel or AMD chips? if so are you looking at the latest cpu, off hand i can't remember what intel are up to now possibly the I7. The new AMD is the Ryzen which needs a special oversize mobo.

I know how you feel. My own computer is almost 10 years old. I told myself I'd replace it after 10 years, so I'll be shopping soon.