Legal status of your name

Status
Not open for further replies.

datosprivados

Contributor
Role
Adult Baby, Diaper Lover
I know it's an odd question to be asking here, but I have a feeling it's trivial (for now). I can check my states legal website if need be. :) But read below, and tell me your opinion.

You see, I'm a sophomore in high school. And my last name is Polish-Germanic. My grandfather when he registered as a US citizen many years ago transcribed it DIRECTLY from the Latin based German Alphabet.

Therefore, it's not phonetic, and many people can't pronounce it worth a shit.

Because of this, I nowadays change the first two letters of my last name from ZW to TSV in school at least. And I might later (or sooner), begin changing how I spell the last letters of my last name to something more phonetic.

Question is, if doing this on a job application, officially kept document, or other such thing. Is it illegal?. Maybe I should wait to change my last name when I'm 18?

And when I do that, can I possibly stipulate multiple spellings?.
P.S. I live in the Northeast USA, if that's any help.

ayanna

Est. Contributor
Role
Adult Baby, Babyfur
You might wanna check with your local notary public or whatever the American equivalent is (court officer of some sort).

But...I know in Canada you can only change your name legally after you turn 18, unless your family changes their name...ie your father changes his name thus changing his children's names (all children's full names must be included in the court documents).

You can spell your name any way you like on things where it doesn't matter...ie school papers (although not on your actual school record) and so on...but things like driver's license, passport and other legal documents would have to have your birth name (as it appears on your birth certificate).