Japanese Learning Blog Week 1 - I Have No Idea What I'm Doing

HappyPixels

Papa Pixels
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Carer
Greetings, lovely littles and diapered delinquents. I hope you're all having an awesome day. Now, a few days ago I made a blog post about how I was thinking of restarting my studies in Japanese that I had to drop a few years ago to to personal reasons. I've found myself with way too much time lately and figured I should maybe use that time more productively. I may have gotten very good at messing up the lives of my Sims but how can I carry that into the real world? I dunno, maybe I should become a lawyer or something.

When I left off the language last, I'd memorized kana, a little kanji, and had basic grammar and vocab down. But because it's been so long, I've forgotten about half of everything I knew. I still know kana but I've forgotten most of the kanji and a lot of the vocab. My past week has largely been reviewing a lot of what I studied before. Currently I can only make the most basic of sentences. I'm not quite starting from the beginning but I'm still a total newb.

Someone once told me that it's a good idea to blog your language learning journey and I figured, hey, why not? Sounds like it could be a lot of fun. A forum about diaper lovers may seem like a weird choice for this but I like this site so I'm gonna anyway. I figured I'll make a post every Friday talking about what I did that week. So far, like I said, this week has largely being going over content I learned before that I need a bit of a refresher in. I've mostly been using IMABI for that but I recently remembered Tofugu exists and that they have an amazing resource page I can't wait to check out.

I love languages and I'm super excited to get back into Japanese and bore anyone who bothers reading these posts about how the other day I learned the word for butt. The word is oshiri (お尻) by the way.

Reactions: EmmyBaby2000 and DLmikey

DLmikey

Est. Contributor
Role