Status
Not open for further replies.

Ajjjjjj

Contributor
Role
  1. Carer
Hi,
I’m new to this Carer sort of thing.
My best friend Who is a little and I live a fair amount away from each other, I’m the only person she’s told and I’m helping her out with this. I feel like I need to be educated a bit on how to look after a little through a phone, would it be possible to have some help with this ???

Hey! Did she tell you so that you would have some involvement in that side of her life, or did she just want to let someone know? I can tell you if she just told you simply as a close friend, she just wants someone to support and verify her. It’s probably important to her that she can tell you and you still be her friend, and it’s possible that she might not even want to talk about her little side that often, but of course I don’t know how she feels. Otherwise, if she wants you to be there as a carer, first you have to decide if that’s what you want. That being said, if you want that it’s super easy cause all you have to do is talk to her about what she wants from you and try to adhere to that side of her as much as you want

She has asked me to help with this stuff and I’m trying to learn on what to do since I can’t really physically be there, and of course I want to help her as much as possible :)

I got you, in that case try just opening up that space for her. Like open up dialogue that allows her to speak how she would like, and do so in a way that matches her regression. That will take a lot of practice to learn how to do for her, but just ask her how her day is at a time she knows she can be in her little headspace. From there conversation should just play itself out. Then I’m not sure about the age she regresses to, but ask if she wants to roll play things like hide and seek and playing with stuffies, where she has the opportunity to play out however or as much as she feels. That should be a good start!

Reactions: Ajjjjjj