How much was diapers when you started wearing and how much have they improved?

Diaperman95

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
Of course I never real bought any myself until I graduated high school. But in 94 I think a 16 count of depends was between 8 and 9 bucks. Attends was around the same.

Now when I started wearing them they was mostly six tapes. Not all but most. They was a thin plastic back diaper that did not hold much and leaked a lot because back in the day they did not have the leak gaurds like now. Nothing but a small amount of elastic around the crotch to keep things in. This was horrible they all leaked around the legs all the time. Many did not have a waste band either. Attends had with and without wasteband diapers and others did too. None of them had wetness indeacters. Now we have diapers with leak gaurds over 2 inches tall and now most of them have a wasteband. I seen the dual tapes come in like on the Abena so you can refasten with a fresh tape. Molicare had them too. I seen the plastic landing zone and the velcro landing zone come in and then unfortunately the cloth backed as well come in. And from being super thin to massive padding that will swell up to 3 in thick or more when wet. They was much smaller in size they would not come as high up the front and back like the do now. They had a lower cut waistband is what I mean. I also could be wrong but I believe the 90s is when the term overnight came out as well on the heavier duty diapers.
Any one is wellcome to reply, but I really would also like to hear from some 50 and older members. That and or anyone who started off in a cotton prefold with a rubber or plastic pants?

Reactions: zaronab