Help with Kubuntu?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vladimir

Est. Contributor
Role
Private
I've installed it on my laptop, but whenever I start it, I get that command thing that quits when I type 'exit', then I get a few error messages on a black screen with only one, blank window that doesn't seem to do anything.

If you need to know which errors there are, I'll look at them tomorrow, I don't feel like doing it today, but my father (which is a database programmer who already used Linux) thinks maybe there's something I need to configure before using it, though I have no clue on what I'm supposed to do.

I've never tried Linux before, I just wanted to install Kubuntu so I could eventually learn.

Bryce

Est. Contributor
Role
Diaper Lover
What model is your laptop? How old is it? Ubuntu is very hard to get working on laptops. My HP dv6000 series actually only let me install with WUBI. Search google for it. But wubi installs from inside Windows. So, put windows on the laptop and then install wubi. And it'll auto add the partitions, etc. It's easier for new users to linux.

Also check out Ubuntu Forums. Search google for it. It'll be like top 1 lol.

chevre

Est. Contributor
Role
Diaper Lover
Errors would be good. In my experience *ubuntu is one of the best distributions for laptop compatibility.

Vladimir

Est. Contributor
Role
Private
What model is your laptop? How old is it? Ubuntu is very hard to get working on laptops. My HP dv6000 series actually only let me install with WUBI. Search google for it. But wubi installs from inside Windows. So, put windows on the laptop and then install wubi. And it'll auto add the partitions, etc. It's easier for new users to linux.

Also check out Ubuntu Forums. Search google for it. It'll be like top 1 lol.
It's a Windows Vista Home Premium that I bought last November.

****, I can't attach my DxDiag.

Vladimir

Est. Contributor
Role
Private
Double post.

I tried installing Ubuntu instead.
It does the same thing.