Elastic Waistband or Not, Why?

PupSpaz

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
  2. Diaperfur
Usually, only more premium diapers tend to have the elastic waistband feature. Having experienced many different disposable brands I've had diapers I like both with and without the feature. If I'm being completely honest, I'm not sure it has much if any impact on the performance of the diaper, although asthetically they do make the diaper look better.

Do you have a preference, and if so why? Do you think it makes the diaper less likely to leak or have experience with an elastic waistband saving the day?

I have no experience with the waistband providing extra leakage protection, but I think it makes the fit much more comfortable.

Reactions: PupSpaz
Yes to waistband, why not? Without it the front acts weird sometimes.

It’s definitely not doing anything for leakage but I do find a waistband style more comfortable

@ykdprdave, @baden, @Ereid2k19 Help me understand if you will - can you describe how it's more comfortable with elastic waistband vs. a diaper without? Even though I've had both, I guess I personally just don't notice a difference.

I dont find it makes the diaper way more better, it helps.... It does make a better fit or more snug around the waist I suppose . It to me looks better a more finished appearance.

yes because it helps the fit better

I find I get a better fit with waist elastic, I prefer both front and back. Gives it a little stretch when I bend over. Also, overnight when I lay on my back, I find my skin sweats more on the back when I wear a diaper with no rear elastic. I think it's due to the flat sheet rather than the "corrugated", which allows for my skin to breathe better? Otherwisde it seems to itch and sweat

Last edited:
Reactions: jamiejamie
Just don’t have the excess material getting folded or bunched up if ya know what I mean. With the waist band the top of the diaper just stays put basically