Do all monotheistic religions warship the same God?

RedPandaDL

Est. Contributor
Role
Diaper Lover
I am a faithful church going Christian. I am not a religion scholar. I am also not an expert on world religions unless you count watching the History Channel and National Geographic 😀. I have noticed though through some of these programs that many religions have similar genesis stories and flood stories as well as similar teachings to the Ten Commandments.

The Bible teaches that everyone on Earth are God’s children. At least I think it says that. I am wondering if as people spread over the Earth that the religion stories took on different variations? I believe in the teachings of Jesus, but don’t feel I can tell anyone of a different religion that their religion is wrong. Maybe non are completely correct or wrong. Maybe we just don’t have the full story. I plan to stick to the Christian teachings and maybe in heaven I will be shown a bigger picture.

So what do others think? Are we all believing in the same God though different teachings?🤔

Trevor

Est. Contributor
Role
Adult Baby, Diaper Lover, Babyfur
Although I'm not a believer anymore, this idea is something I had lived with for some time when I was religious. It came from here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Progressive_revelation_(Bahá'í)

If it were true, it explained a lot to me. However, there are aspects outside of this that created problems for me and ultimately led to my rejection of that and other religions.

CrinklyConnor

Est. Contributor
Role
Adult Baby, Babyfur, Sissy, Little
I think you mean Abrahamic religions. There have been plenty of “monotheistic” religions that do not worship the same god in any sense, but if you’re talking about the god that’s worshipped in both Christian and Muslim worlds, in simple, simple religious context - yes.

RedPandaDL

Est. Contributor
Role
Diaper Lover