Can diapers give you a UTI?

PaigeCherubiel

Chat Room Drag Queen
Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Sissy
Can diapers give you a UTI? I've had one for about 3 weeks now and been prescribed two different antibiotics. I did a second UA last Monday, and am still waiting for results. I wear adult pull-ups 24/7 and don't pee in them but do dribble.

Well, I imagine it's possible, but much more plausible if you have a vagina rather than a penis. I've heard of diapers causing UTIs but typically in infants or bedridden patients who aren't being changed enough and are sitting in a mess. Unless that's your situation, the UTI probably isn't caused by diapers. (im not a medical professional and this is not medical advice)

Last edited:
Reactions: PaigeCherubiel
Perhaps not the diaper in itself, but when you dribble or have small leaks often enough to not have a real pee
to flush out and completely empty your bladder, bacteria inside your urethra or bladder can (will) start to grow
and cause UTI's. That's what my urologist told me. (Been there.)
Often we are afraid of diaper leaks and try to cut off the stream or do other things to not overflow the diaper.
Remember to flush and empty as often as you can during the day.

Reactions: PaigeCherubiel
For sure. Been in diapers for a long time and have had 2. Usually when I am both wet and messy diapers for too long is my guess as I often wear super thick diapers and don't change until they are leaky usually.

Yes. Yes, they can. 😩 I got one from it a few years ago. Thankfully, it hasn't happened since. 🥹

• Love
Reactions: PaddedRita and Hemix
It is possible, but unlikely unless you are in a poopy diaper. Just be sure to keep yourself clean.

I don’t know I got my UTI before I wore diapers, I think it was from being hospitalized.

I got one a few weeks ago. I do mess my diapers too. Not sure what caused it but yeah, 2 days of bloody urine and then a few more days of discomfort.

• Sad
Reactions: richieboy
Omg301 said: