Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: EMT training

Default EMT training

I'm planning on takeing emt training classes this year and next.(Getting certified as a basic or intermediate EMT)

I was wondering if anyone on this forum was an EMT or has taken those classes?
    What's it like?
    How hard is?
    Is the job's difficulties worth the pay?
    What have you had to do on the job?

Quote Originally Posted by Valerye View Post
    I'm planning on takeing emt training classes this year and next.(Getting certified as a basic or intermediate EMT)

I was wondering if anyone on this forum was an EMT or has taken those classes?
    What's it like?
    How hard is?
    Is the job's difficulties worth the pay?
    What have you had to do on the job?
    I was a volunteer EMT in West Texas, and am now a nurse. Being an EMT can be fun, frustrating, exciting, and a whole lot of other things. The type of things you do depends on where you work and the type of squad to which you are assigned.

The job can be both physically and mentally difficult. Much of it gets better with practice. The hours can be very long, though.

Pay is low. This is due to many factors, including the fact that many cities would rather depend on volunteers (which are free, or at least cheaper) than paid EMS services.

The other difficulty is that many others in the health care field do not view EMT's as "professionals", though many EMT's have as much, if not more, education as others in health care. Be prepared for this perception.

As far as the things I did as an EMT, there were many memorable experiences, and I would be remiss if I listed only a few. Let's just say my experiences drove me to pursue my Master's in Nursing.