I need help understanding cell phone contracts.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sulqy117

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
This might sound a bit odd but go with it.

I work as a caretaker for a man in his 80's. He likes to get out and about but he cant drive. What his family has in mind is to get him a smart phone so we can use services like uber and lyft. taxis are out of the question, oddly enough.

heres the kicker: this phone would not be used for anything else, AT ALL. I suggested a prepaid phone instead of a plan. I've been looking into phones we could use this way but I've come across a few problems, most companies charge a monthly rate even though they call it prepaid. Also, I haven't seen a price for internet use.

Im asking for help on here to see what you guys can recommend. Thanks for the help :)

I got a Samsung Galaxy Centura off ebay with 1200 minutes, texts, & mb data for $80 and one year service. Comes to $6-7 a month and I am set for a year. With TracFone you can get a plan to get $ deducted from your credit card monthly or buy service cards. If your service lapses you loose your phone number. I just make it a point not to register my credit card number with them and they won't be able to charge me for extras. If I run out of minutes, i'm out of luck until I buy another card.

how does the internet work on these phones? if I download apps, do they work fine? im guessing internet usage takes minutes but is it costly?

You can get a data only plan from most providers but getting plan with more data and a few minutes of calls might be best stop by your local corporate att or the other providers they will be better able to help get you on a correct plan and they will know if they have deals for seniors I find non corp owned stores some times sell you what's best for them commission wise then what's best for you the customer