Learning new languages

Status
Not open for further replies.

DLGoplayer

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
  2. Carer
Does anyone have any tips for learning a new language?

Currently I am working on learning japanese/日本語。
I am using roesetta stone to learn it, but it does occasionally get confusing. So I wanted to know, how to help yourself memorize new words and phrases in different languages.

First, wow. Japanese is really hard to learn so congrats on really going for it!

Ummm I took Spanish classes for 3 years and French for a year. I really loved Spanish so after I graduated I continued learning it through Duolingo. My advice to you is to practice at least 30 minutes everyday, use tv shows/books/etc to continue your studying and get a firm grasp in on what areas are causing you problems, and well have fun with it! Study the culture around it while your learning the language and if you may very well fall in love with it.

I enjoyed cooking Spanish and French dishes for both of my classes (extra credit ftw!), so perhaps learning how to prepare a few dishes might inspire you to study on a day that you really don't want to.

Just keep trying! <3

I'm learning Japanese as well right now, but being really bad at learning languages in general (until now I've tried English, French, and Indonesian, more or less successfully), it takes me ages. But the best way, in my opinion, to memorize a lot of vocabulary in a rather short time is anki. Just get some flashcards for minna no nihongo or any other basic textbook and off you go.

The grammar can be tricky, but the further you progress the more you can see that it relies, like many other languages, on a certain number of rather simple building blocks combined in all sorts of ways. The better you know the simple grammar (especially the different verb forms), the easier it gets when the really horrifying stuff begins :smile1: And like StrawberryRaven said, practice is everything.