Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need help with a database

Default I need help with a database

I am setting up a webserver on my adsl line, for access to my family only.

It's going to be a place for picture sharing, family news, etc.

I would like to place a small forum on this server, but I am new to databases and need a bit of a tutorial.

I need advice to find a free database( if that exists ) and how to install, run, etc.

Feel free to point out anything else I have missed.

If you have any helpfull knowledge please share.

Thanks, Kevin

Well, If you really want to do it right, I'd suggest a LAMP server. That's a version of Linux, with the Apache web server, MySQL database, and PHP. There's a number of free guides out there on how to set one up, and I'd be more than willing to help walk you through it.

MySQL is okay, though personally I like PostgreSQL. And if it's going to be small, there's always SQLite also.

Quote Originally Posted by kevindhca View Post
    I am setting up a webserver on my adsl line, for access to my family only.

It's going to be a place for picture sharing, family news, etc.

I would like to place a small forum on this server, but I am new to databases and need a bit of a tutorial.

I need advice to find a free database( if that exists ) and how to install, run, etc.

Feel free to point out anything else I have missed.

If you have any helpfull knowledge please share.

Thanks, Kevin
    While setting it up yourself is good for the learning experience (and if you do I would reccomend MySQL) it is quite complicated and you don't seem to technically minded so if you don't want to go to the effort, you can always get your forum hosted by someone (e.g. freeforums.org or invisionfree.com) which is the quick and easy option.