Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cloth diaper sizing

Default Cloth diaper sizing

What, another topic on diaper size? Yeah, sorry, but this one's more of a warning to cloth noobs like me.

I've always wanted a real cloth diaper that pins on. I'm firmly in the DL camp with no AB tendencies, but the idea of a pin-on cloth diaper has become more and more appealing to me. So I went to adultclothdiaper.com and looked at their nighttime prefolds. The odd thing is that they said that I should have a large. In fact, according to their size chart, that would be a little bigger than I needed. I have a 44" waist and they say that should fit up to a 52". I normally wear a XXL or something, so I called them up and asked if that could possibly be right. The lady assured me that would work fine.

Well, because I'm new at this, I guess I should have asked what kind of fold they were using when they came up with those sizes. I imagined a tri-fold with the back open, front still folded, and pined to the front. Wrong. The large lets me pin on the sides, but that's not at all what I wanted. Yes, I should have looked at the measurements and done the math. Yes, I should have asked what size I'd need if I wanted to do a particular fold, but didn't. And now I have a diaper that was expensive and isn't what I wanted. Bummer.

I guess my suggestion to any flat and pre-fold diaper seller is to list waist sizes by fold type. This size will fit this waist size if you do this kind of fold. If you want to do this kind of fold, you'll need this size.

That would be helpful.

-RMS

I wear size large prefolds from Changing Times Diaper Co and I like the way they fit on me. I use the trifold and I'm able to pin
    mine to the front. I also use contour diapers from CTDC in size large and they fit the same way. Plus I also use Boingo fasteners
    instead of pins. I also have a 40 inch waist.

I've never heard of Boingo fasteners, Oleman. Don't they damage the cloth? Those teeth look pretty nasty.