Thread: Hospitals

Default Hospitals

Hi, I am fully aware that hospitals are very serious places etc but should I need to go at some stage how do I make sure they use a diaper rather than a cathedar? I hate cathedars and have had a history of wetting the bed in hosoitals. If I go in with a diaper on will they just kinda keep me in them? Ive just heard that diapers are a absolute last resort

Fluffyboy,

Here I can speak from multiple experience and view points... first of I'm Incontinent and a Bedwetter and I used to work as a paramedic, so hospitals are places I have some insight into. And also I was basically run over by an idiot driver (long story) and thus used to spend a bit of quality time as a patient at hospitals.

Let me address a few points:
    You're a DL - and as you say have rare bedwetting incidents at hospitals (so you should know how they deal with this) - but you are not IC -are you?

- You don't "need" diapers for medical reasons - so leave them at home and don't burden hospital staff with this - please.
    - Hospital beds are well protected and a wet bed isn't a rarity either... if it happens nightly or very frequently, you can let the staff know about the issue and can mention that you use diapers for this... you can ask whether they can supply them or if you should bring your own before you go... But make sure you let them know anyhow.
    Also you can bring your own - but do NOT just wear them if you don't need them aside from the night!
    You can put it on yourself - so don't hassle the staff with it.
    - The hospital usually does not provide really high quality diapers (with a few notable exceptions) ... if you happen to have a doctors recipe for diapers (as I do) you can get your diapers (the ones you usually use, as long as they are available through the hospital pharmacy) - this is what I did when I had a prolonged stay, so I didn't need to bother bringing in a ton of things.