Thread: CNC Machinest classes

Default CNC Machinest classes

So today I started my cnc classes, today was just an introductory lesson and a basic math easement, and I have to admit it feels great to actually have to think again. Math has nevee been my strong point, but i feel I did ok. Even if I didn't, ot still felt great to sit down and apply myself to something that I'm not normally good at

Have you ever taken manual Machinist classes.

i hate the schools that do not give the students wanting to be Machinist any training in the non CNC part.

They do not have the students best interest in mind an are teaching students to be factory workers good for loading blocks \of metal and unloading finished products.

i am a old manual Machinist and can do one offs that would rarely be done on CNC because of the setup and programing time.

And i can do gunsmithing because i have the manual time and training.

Nice !! I work at a custom hot rod shop and I really want to know how work a CNC machine. Just thinking all the cool parts I can makes want to find a school. If you don't mind me asking where is your school located ?

Quote Originally Posted by anned View Post
    Have you ever taken manual Machinist classes.

i hate the schools that do not give the students wanting to be Machinist any training in the non CNC part.

They do not have the students best interest in mind an are teaching students to be factory workers good for loading blocks \of metal and unloading finished products.

i am a old manual Machinist and can do one offs that would rarely be done on CNC because of the setup and programing time.

And i can do gunsmithing because i have the manual time and training.

I'm a machinist / mechanical engineer these days specialized on CNC machinery working both at my own shop mostly some prototyping stuff and for the evaluation of possible work-process solutions and as a consultant for other companies when it comes to CNC machinery (larger stuff mostly), processes etc.