Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planning on buying a laptop, and I need some advice

Default Planning on buying a laptop, and I need some advice

Well, I've been thinking about buying a laptop for ages, and I've decided that now is finally the right time to do it. I have plenty of money (700 at the last check), and there's all the post-Christmas sales. There's just one tiny problem - I have no idea what to buy.

I mean, I like to consider myself more knowledgeable about computers than the average guy, but I'm no expert. And I've never bought one before, so I have no idea which brands are good, or what I should be expecting to pay. And any advice I've gotten so far has seemed to be conflicting.

I always worry like this when making new purchases, and this is most likely going to be the most expensive individual item I've ever bought, so I want to make sure I'm doing everything right.

What I'd really like is something that still has XP on it. I really can't stand what I've seen of vista, and I'll need a little more time before I decide to change to a different OS. I'd also rather get one that doesn't come with loads of crap already installed on it. I always hear people saying about computer manufacturers that are really bad, but that leaves me wondering which ones are good.

I'm not looking for anything special, it's just for everyday use and playing games maybe once a month. I just want something I can trust to not be awful. So I'll be very grateful to anyone who can tell me just what that is. :)

I'd say go with a macbook. I am going to get one really soon, it may be expensive ($2000) but it will last forever and is really reliable. With a mac you can get it with xp on it at the store and decide what you want on it. That's my recomendation at least.

What do you need it for?
    Small, light and good battery life? Or do you need it as a replacement for a desktop PC which should run games?