Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: When will CDs go out and what are we to do to....

Default When will CDs go out and what are we to do to....

Replenish the funds that they furnish for the creators of the material, as well as all those who will be jobless who worked at CD distribution copies and manufacturers (such as CD baby)?

CDs: Obsolete by 2015? | TechHive

According to the above link, CDs could be very well obsolete by the first quarter of 2015. And DVD's/Blu-Ray discs by 2020, now as you all may be aware I am a screenwriter and a musician, so the change may very well come with repercussions for those like me planning to make a living, a good one at that, off my work. So what plans do people suggest to make sure enough funds are kept flowing in to keep screenwriters/musicians out of bankruptcy in this new wave of technology we're inevitably coming into?

To those who are just hobbyists, this may not affect you much but its time to think for the near future.

In addition,, I want to note we need to develop a solution in order to rise bands abode middle-class status by profiting from this new way of sales

I've stopped using cd dvd bluray's already. all my stuff is downloaded and stored on a hard drive.

If CDs become obsolete, nothing will need to be done to "replenish the funds that furnish the creators of the material".

Think about it... CDs are an unnecessary cost to music producers. By providing downloadable files, which take no physical space, require no raw materials, no storage space, no transportation, no unsold stock, and remove the fabrication process to press CDs... music can be produced and released at a far lower cost.

If everything else stays fixed, this means that music will become more profitable. The potential obsoletion of music CDs will save the industry (and thus artists) money.

Quote Originally Posted by Balto91 View Post