Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: working over xmas and newyear?

Default working over xmas and newyear?

Just thought id take a quick head count of those of us that had to work on the holiday days, i work as a Nurse for the NHS, i was lucky enough to get xmas day off this year, but will be at work from new years eve and through till late on new years day.

Well I'm still looking for a job but my mom has to work all this week. She's a homecare worker so it's kind of hard to get time off on holidays because -much like a nurse- they are always needed. But she has around 20 years seniority and she managed to get Christmas off which was nice.
    Good luck on your new years shift, sounds like a doosey.

Same here, I usually have a party to DJ for New years but my current job has me scheduled to work so I recruited a friend to do the DJ work for me.

So yeah... instead of having a good time entertaining and having a few drinks I get to work right on through it.

Yes... it does make me upset... but.........

Then I consider the fact that the passage of time and current system used to measure time is a completely man made concept used to explain the passage of time. Claiming that an exact moment is New Year is ludicrous. You can easily say it's New Year at any time. It's like Holidays like Christmas. It's all just mad-made crap.

It only had meaning because we think it does.

Quote Originally Posted by BabyMitchy View Post
    Same here, I usually have a party to DJ for New years but my current job has me scheduled to work so I recruited a friend to do the DJ work for me.

So yeah... instead of having a good time entertaining and having a few drinks I get to work right on through it.

Yes... it does make me upset... but.........