Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I don't feel like an adult

Default I don't feel like an adult

Ok, so I'm 21 and legally an adult, (for 3 years) but the weird thing is, I don't feel like one. OK so I am at uni, and during term time I live in a flat with two friends. But at the end of the day, I can't shift this nagging feeling in the back of my mind that I'm not really a proper adult. I hope this is clear enough.

Is there an age this stops at? Maybe its different for different people. I'm 28 and a supervisor at a store and I have to try to act like an adult at work because when I'm not there I watch disney channel and sleep on spiderman sheets.

Quote Originally Posted by blueaudio View Post
    Is there an age this stops at? Maybe its different for different people. I'm 28 and a supervisor at a store and I have to try to act like an adult at work because when I'm not there I watch disney channel and sleep on spiderman sheets.
    Well I'm appreciably older than you and have to say I've never felt like one at all.
    All I'd say is don't worry about not feeling like an adult as in some fields being more in tune with your inner child is an advantage, just concentrate on carrying out your responsibilities such as doing your job right, settling up bills and where appropriate handling family/relationship issues maturely as they are the core things that matter in our society. Do that and you can play with lego, do colouring or even dress like a kid in your own time no problem.

Zpeed

im only an adult when i need to buy alcohol and drive a car :p

I kinda feel the same way. I just don't really like being an adult. It doesn't feel right & it's just not that great to me most of the time. =\

My question is how do you define a "Proper adult"?
    I find a lot of what is defined as "Proper" is what other people think and sometimes try to force on us.
    The important thing is what is proper for you.

CrinklySiren