Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: The Legitimacy of Forced Health Class

Default The Legitimacy of Forced Health Class

Hello my friends. Today I come to you with a very serious issue in my mind. In my high school, a health class must be taken one of your four years, or you may not graduate. I actually wrote a letter to my guidance councilor, my congressman, and my governor (I live in New York), but apparently none of the three thought a 15-year old was important enough to answer. So here is my letter, containing all my reasons for thinking I shouldn't be forced to take health class.

Please note that I am in the top 10 (perhaps 5) oh my grade, and that I am in and enjoy being in my band. Just like all intelligent high school students, the dumber half of my grade aren't the nicest people to me...

To (insert the various people here),

Hello, I am a ninth grade student at (SCHOOL NAME), and around two or three months ago I was informed by my guidance counselors that legally, I was required to take at least one health class by my senior year. Now, I had no major problems with the health class in middle school, except that it was a waste of half a period for me. I spent the entire period working on real subjects that would get me somewhere in life, and still passed with an A in the class. Now that I am in high school, I expected the chance to broaden my horizons with the free elective system. I could finally take classes that interested me, and I could get out of the classes in which I was stuck with peers that either did not take school seriously (thus distracting me from my education), didn't want to be in school (thus distracting me from my education), or in a majority of the situations, both.