Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: super scared about telling her my secret...

Exclamation super scared about telling her my secret...

I've really close friends with this girl my age for about 7 years now, she's my best friend, she means the world to me. I've never had a girlfriend, so I've been reluctant to take our relationship any further until this year. I'm planning on asking her to be my girlfriend pretty soon (this wkend maybe?) so I'm pretty nervous since I've never done anything like this before...

Although we tell each other everything, there's one problem... I've never told anyone I know in real life about this side of me. I have no clue how to even go about doing such a thing, I mean I always worry about what other people think about me and I don't want to ruin any of the friendships I've made.

Anyway, I feel like I should tell her this before hand and if she still accepts me, then I know we can have a relationship together. But I worry that if I wait to tell her after we're in a relationship (like people have suggested I do in the past), this would possibly ruin her perspective of me and completely ruin the relationship.

Anyone else deal with a similar situation and have any suggestions? I'd greatly appreciate it...

GravityHart

If she doesn't accept it, she probably wasn't a good friend in the first place, OTHERWISE good luck!!

Cherub

I think the timing of telling someone is a very delicate balancing act. Yes you want to tell the person, but you don't want to disclose such personal information to someone with whom you may not remain in a relationship with. Tell the person too soon before they get to know you and you could risk scaring them off. Tell them too late and you could loose them because they may be upset tyhat you didn't tell them sooner.