Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XNA Game Developer compared to C++

Default XNA Game Developer compared to C++

This is a question for those with programming experience. Anyway, I just recently obtained A LOT of windows developer tools from my school for real cheap. It's freakin awesome! I actually feel like I didn't waste tons of money on over priced crap I'm going to use for a semester. Anyway, I got these since I'm currently in a C++ class and learning the C++ language. I was wondering, how similar are the XNA (xbox 360) game development languages are to C++. The XNA programs are based on C# language so I'm hoping I could pick it up relatively easily. I'm still a super beginner programmer (I have never been exposed to ANY programming before), but if I could learn a language I'm more interested in and would actually use, that'd be great. Also, how hard is graphical programming? I imagine it must be much more challenging then the super simple console applications we're learning now which seem pretty useless. I don't want to create my own games, but I want to create modifications of games that could be sold over the market place.

Quote Originally Posted by whatshisface View Post
    Anyway, I got these since I'm currently in a C++ class and learning the C++ language. I was wondering, how similar are the XNA (xbox 360) game development languages are to C++. The XNA programs are based on C# language so I'm hoping I could pick it up relatively easily.
    The basic concepts of virtually all computer languages are the same, and the syntax on the very basic stuff often is similar for most major languages.

That said, while C++ and C# share a similar name, they are different languages. I haven't used C#, so I'm not 100% certain on the differences. Microsoft does have a page that lists differences, which may be helpful.