Thread: Funniest DIY fixes

Wink Funniest DIY fixes

Share stories of stuff you have fixed via DIY, especially if they are funny.
    My story:
    When I couldn't find my bathrobe belt, I used the belt from my pants. Now I look like a Jedi from Star Wars.

What are some things you have fixed via DIY that were in a funny way?

Possibly the funnest one I did was after I hit a deer with my '89 Bonneville. I was an undergrad with no money at the time, and the car was already 13 years old by then. Hitting the deer smashed the headlight as well as pushed up the hood and pushed back the fender.

I jumped up and down on the hood until it was pushed back down. I then smashed the fender with a sledgehammer until I could open the passenger door. Finally, I pulled the remaining shell of the headlight from the car, wrapped it with about half a roll of saran wrap, then went over that with a roll of clear packing tape. When I cut the slits into the back for the bulbs, it sounded like I stabbed a balloon! I put the light back in by duct-taping it to a structural member that had survived the impact. After I did all that, I took a rattle can of black paint (it was a black car) and sprayed the hood and fender where the paint had flaked off.

Quote Originally Posted by xbabyx View Post
    Possibly the funnest one I did was after I hit a deer with my '89 Bonneville. I was an undergrad with no money at the time, and the car was already 13 years old by then. Hitting the deer smashed the headlight as well as pushed up the hood and pushed back the fender.