Thread: Another from the UK

Default Another from the UK

Greetings all. I'm feeling a bit nervous about plunging in to such an active community, but, well, here goes...

I'm a professional geek in the south of the UK. Not the "turn it off and on again" kind, but the "making computers flash lights and do cool stuff" kind. I work for a technology company, where I get to be geeky and get paid for it! I like being able to dig down in to the minutiae of details, and get things working.

I have vivid memories of being a bed-wetter when I was little; probably around the age 5 or 6. I was simultaneously embarrassed about having to still wear nappies at my age (amid much teasing from my brother), but also secretly enjoyed wearing them in bed. Unfortunately for my parents, sometimes my "games" would involve me taking them off, and not being able to put them back on again (oops)! Once I stopped having to wear them to bed the DL grew seamlessly from there. I remember making my own pair of plastic pants out of a carrier bag, a few times.

Even though it was embarrassing, with hindsight I remember feeling secure and safe once I was wearing my nappy. I think it's that aspect that I'm recapturing when I wear them now. I go through phases (sometimes years) where I forget all about being a DL, but it always comes back.

Anyway, when I'm not talking computer-speak, nor wearing, I like to go against the geek stereotype by hiking, visiting nice places and taking photographs (abroad if necessary), road cycling (and a bit of MTB, too) and snowboarding. On the slightly geeky side my social group like to play so-called Euro-games, like Carcassone et. al. I also try to be a good role model for my niece and my friends' recent offspring. I come across as an extrovert, but am actually quite shy internally.

Hi there, welcome to the site!