Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: G'day everyone :)

Default G'day everyone :)

I'm glad that I finally registered here. To be honest: I'm a bit nervous about it. That's because it's a first time for me; and I'm not such a group person anyhow. But this seems like a good and respectful place, so here goes

I'm a bit of a geek girl. I work as a webdesigner / webmaster, trying to extend that a bit to the programming side. I'm a lesbian, so the stereotype probably puts me in the "butch" category - ie. I rather shop for hardware than for clothing and I play soccer in a girl's team. But I also have my girly sides.
    I'm in a relationship. Have been for years, and hope to keep it like that.

I want to exchange / learn more about what options there are to manage my sleep-wetting: I've got a form of nocturnal enuresis.
    I'm here in particular because I've grown a bit tired of how people and professionals deal with incontinence.
    Maybe this is because I have never known anything else, but what has always bothered me most is how it is approached as a shameful disease that should be dealt with in an above all "discrete" fashion.

I have always found it odd that the fact that I have to wear some form of protection because my body disposes some fluids for a week every month is considered nothing to be ashamed of; but the fact that I have to wear a similar (though larger) form of protection because my body also happens to dispose some other fluids at night must be hidden, secret and felt awkward about.