Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It Isn't ALWAYS a Passing Phase (MATURE)

Default It Isn't ALWAYS a Passing Phase (MATURE)

It's been a long, long while folks. I must admit that over the past four or five months, my participation in this community has dwindled to a mere "lurking" state, checking stories and popping into the chat every now and then.

But I wanted to discuss something rather important here, and I wasn't sure where to put it. I put a disclaimer on this topic because it is quite serious, and to some, could be considered mature.

As some of you know, I have been battling depression for quite a long time. However, when I say battle, I mean that I have just hoped that it would go away whenever it became more prevalent in my life. I was always so afraid of getting help because I didn't want to know what was wrong with me. In addition to this, I am a Graduate Student with a 4.0 GPA. This led me to tell myself that I'd put off seeking help until I was finished.

What most of you (or maybe even all of you) don't know about me is that, this past May and June, I was literally five feet away from ending my life. It was going to be my body against a slew of traffic on a busy road in my old town. A lot of unfortunate events (one being told I had a month to move out on my own with little money and no job or health insurance) and increased isolation make for a deadly concoction if untreated.

Despite my grades being perfect, my depression got the best of me in those months, and I became dehumanized. The pain--that disgusting feeling in my chest that weighed me down--was almost to the point where my body and mind couldn't bear it anymore. By God, or by some miracle of some sort, I talked myself out of ending my life. While months have passed, I still feel that pain. Whenever I talk about this experience, it hurts...a lot.