Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: college...location location location

Default college...location location location

okay, recently i have been thinking more and more about collage(im a junior....will be soon)and i don't know where i want to go i was thinking canada just because it matches my requirementswhich are:
    1 must be near a beach(im a total beach bum)
    2 preferably snow in the winter(i love snow to no end)
    3 mush have couses in science (my major is ganna be biochemical.....nvm you dun care)
    4 preferably an old timey feeling (i hate huge cities)
    5 preferably have an industrial zone (like empy wharehouses and construction yards(that one is a secret reason)
    so what are your requirements for collage?
    and where would you recomend i go ?
    and if you ave already been to collage what was your best experience..or worst?

No.

You are making the mistake of prioritizing a bunch of transient factors. What really matters is:

1. the quality of the education, and
    2. what you are paying for it.

These two points exist together: you are looking for the best bang for your buck.

There is a nasty habit among American teens and their parents to look far and wide for the "perfect fit" college, wasting an absurd amount of time and money traveling around to do college visits. The truth is that whether or not the school's campus is pretty or the rec-center is awesome or the surrounding city has lots of activities won't matter a hill of beans 4 years later when you are a freshly minted professional trying to pay down college debt.

Moreover, there isn't too much difference in the quality of education you get from one school to the next. The edge that more prestigious schools actually have are better resources for research, more interesting programs outside of the regular classroom, and in the case of the super-elite schools (Ivy League, MIT, and their ilk) extremely valuable connections to be made.