Thread: BPD, Co-Dependency, Personality Disorders as a cause of Development and its links to ABDL.

Default BPD, Co-Dependency, Personality Disorders as a cause of Development and its links to ABDL.

Hi all,

So, I haven't posted much here, but I thought I'd start an interesting topic that is of much concern to me right now. This is right up there with the whole psychological aspects of our culture.

I'm no psychology expert and don't claim to be, but I'm wondering if any links can be drawn, or if anyone wants to share experiences or stories, in order to perhaps further understand myself.

So, I'm currently in a relationship with someone who has BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder). This has been diagnosed, and it's in the early stages of treatment. As a result, I believe, that as a Non-BPD partner, I've become an enabler or rather, co-dependent. However, after reading up a little more on codependency, I've pretty much come to a sudden conclusion that I've perhaps often/always been codependent in my relationships. I'm starting the early stages of coming to terms with that, but at the same time, with my research, I've seen things and read things that make me believe that there is a link between how the co-dependency developed and AB/DL.

I doubt any formal research has been done in this field, but I'm wondering if any of you can see any links, through your psychology knowledge. In the end, I'm not looking to "cure" my AB/DLism, as most of the time, I believe I am quite comfortable with who I am as a person, (but I admit, a lot of that seems to get lost , or becoming lost when I'm in a relationship, especially more so now considering I'm codependent and she's a borderline).

I believe I may/will have to go get some help on my own for these personality issues, so, I'm not looking for suggestions or criticisms, simply knowledge and experiences.

Thanks a bunch!

Cheers!

Spearmint