Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need a gaming tv

Default Need a gaming tv

So I'm finally getting a ps3, and I need a tv in my bedroom to go along with it. I know like nothing about televisions so I turn to you guys for some help. From what I gathered, I'm gonna want something in the 20's inch range thats 720p so its not super expensive but decent enough?

I can pretty much only get from Amazon. Thanks.

im not an expert but I do have an idea, a 19 in HDMI compatible tv with an RGB input (so you can also have a high definition computer monitor) here is the link to the model I was thinking of

LC320EMX

these go on sale at walmart for real cheap like 100-170 is about how much this will cost.

the TV accepts 480i 480p 720p and 1080i video signals

RGB != High Definition. In fact, it actually looks worse because its transmitted in analog, and must be converted by the TV. However, if you get one with multiple HDMI inputs, DVI is compatible with HDMI. all you need is a HDMI - DVI cable. Also, since PS3 supports 1080p, you should get a 1080p television. That way, if you get a Blu-Ray disc, or a game that runs in 1080p, there won't be any picture degradation due to downscaling. My rule of thumb is to try and match the output to the input, because every time you have to manipulate the picture it degrades. Think of it like making a photocopy of a photocopy.

IMO a 19"-26" old school TV would work best. There will be no screen lag, ghosting. Also the smaller TV makes it easy to everything.

Games are made in 720p because it will support higher frame rates that 1080p. So its unlikely to find a game in 1080p. An TV's that support 1080p cost allot more than TV's that support just 1080i, an be the same screen size an quality.

Depending on what type of games you plain on playing. Like RPG's or FPS's. I would highly suggest a small screen, with a very low respond rate.