Thread: Moving from Windows->OSX based computers at church

Default Moving from Windows->OSX based computers at church

If you want to skip all the back story you can just read the last paragraph

First and foremost I've always been a Windows person this is largely because of my distaste with Apple's strongarm marketing tactics and draconian control of all aspects of hardware/software that go on their machines as well as their inflated prices compared to comparable builds from Windows based vendors.

Long story short the church I volunteer at is moving to Mac's I told the guy what my thoughts on Apple are but being the laid back person I am told him that I'd help them spec out the computer they'd need for the presentation software they are wanting to move to.

Anyway I'm going to be buying a MBP laptop in order to aquatint myself with the OSX operating system. So I don't feel like a complete noob whenever they have me show up to run the software. I'll probably end up using the MBP as a sort of netbook as well as my desktop replacement/gaming laptop/whatever Sager 9262 is hardly fitting of the term portable.

Anyone here have any suggestions/experience's for learning OSX coming from Windows?

Use none of your Windows logic. It will not work here. Your best bet (if the MBP is being shipped) is to use Linux/Ubuntu. I know it's crazy but the vague basis of both the operating systems using Unix will get you a leg up on how the file system works.

I've heard the kernel they use is similar and while I haven't had time to mess with my linux box as much as I'd like I am familiar with linux having had linux installed in one form or another on a box at my house for about 3-4 years. Though since I don't use it regularly I always have to relearn all of the commands.

Though I have to say I never did understand the file system structure...

Quote Originally Posted by jiffypop45 View Post