Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Who else listens to music while they write?

Default Who else listens to music while they write?

K,

I am a writer and I like to listen to music while I write. I find that it helps me focus on what I am working on and it helps me think. I am not sure if it's an Asperger's related thing but I like music to help me write. I've always liked music as I write.

I was wondering, if anyone else does that too, or puts something on TV too. I do that too.

And before anyone asks, I am retired from AB stories.

WildThing121675

All the time dude. Music is a huge part of me getting into the writing zone, and when it's not on I find the silence distracting. I can't do tv cause then I feel compelled to watch, but music for sure.

Typically, I'll listen to some instrumental stuff (Petrucci, Buckethead), ambient stuff that just kinda flows (Tool, NIN) or stuff with gritty screaming so the vocals aren't getting in my head a lot (Zao if freakin perfect). But yeah, I know that a lot of people find it annoying to listen while they write, and I can see why. I'm a not a fan of listening to stuff that's gonna really grab my attention, like lyrics I can sing a long to and stuff. But with the writing I've been working on lately (next Farsight chapter out Sunday for the interested few), I've listened to Tool's 10,000 Days like a dozen times, and a lot from the album Kezia by PTH too. So yeah, music with writing is solid.

Depends what i'm writing, but I listen to music must of the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Slang View Post
    All the time dude. Music is a huge part of me getting into the writing zone, and when it's not on I find the silence distracting.
    I have to have music when I write. It's required. I'm totally a fan of the above quote!

Most of the time, like you said, Slang, I can't let the words get into my head. Being that I'm focused on the words going down on the page, I can't be distracted by those that belong to anybody else!