Thread: Help me with my TV Please???

Question Help me with my TV Please???

OK Don't get me wrong here, I work in tech support.. But I do computers.. When it comes to TV's.. I know enough, but not enough to figure out an issue like this. My basic troubleshooting is telling me there is a problem, but I can't figure out what it is.

***my remote only works intermittently. The line of sight to the TV is clear, I have power-cycled the remote and the TV, tried different batteries, and yet the remote only works when I hit it. The batteries are tight... What could the issue be here?***

TV is an old 38 Inch CRT. It was given to me, and I don't know a whole lot about it. Do I need a new remote? Or is there something I have overlooked

Could possibly be a loose transistor or even some soldering in the remote, I would open it up and have a look ... but if you dont feel comfortable doing that try getting a universal remote .. they sell em in drug stores for like 7 bucks

Not a problem opening it up.. I open computers all the time.. I'll see what that finds me.. If not, I'll buy universal one. They're easy enough to program.

---------- Post added at 11:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

Ok, thank you for your help, I did not think it could be a loose chip, but there is a chip in there that seems to be hanging by only 1 stud, and you can tell there was 3 in it. I will juust buy a new remote. Thanks ^.^

That's nuts that the microcontroller is only hanging by one pin and still working. Must of been the orientation that you were holding it!
    Electronics problems always stump me!

Hmm. I'm an expert in these things and I know how to handle these things. Follow my general guidelines:

Point's very short guide to: FIXING TELEVISIONS
    1) Get very angry at the TV.
    2) Yell "What the hell is this? I want to watch IOETH" (IOETH of course being the show you were watching).
    3) Throw your remote at the wall. If it breaks, skip straight to step 6.