Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To anyone thinking of getting their CDL

Default To anyone thinking of getting their CDL

I'm a truck driver at the moment. In the past, I've been a journalist, an editor, a part-time photographer, and a slew of other quasi-creative office-oriented things.

I say 'at the moment,' but it has been six years since I became a trucker. I would've gotten out of the industry long ago, but I got a union gig that paid obscene amounts of money. No, I'm not going to go into specifics; however, just for perspective, the top earner at our company made the combined income of 8 people I know. Really good money.

Well, this April I was laid off. That's why I was on here making inane posts over the summer; it was something to do while I sat around on my ass collecting unemployment and waiting to go back to work.

Well, my somewhat considerable savings dwindled over the course of six months (following a great summer), and so in November I went back to work for the company I started with 6 years ago. If you were wondering, they have obnoxious orange trucks, and the company's name rhymes with 'Shmiter.'

Even in the three years since I was employed here, this company has drastically changed. You never got paid to do anything but drive, and I knew that going in. The difference was, before you would get 500- to 600-mile loads. That meant quite a bit of driving before you had to do the stuff you don't get paid for.

The average load length has now plummeted to about 350 miles, now. All the longer runs go to Shmiter's teams, leaving solo drivers fighting over their scraps. It's just abysmal.

You don't have to be a mathematician to see that Shmiter has roughly doubled the incidence of "stuff you do not get paid for," which makes the job absolutely insufferable.