Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Today's poor grammar, spelling, and usage

Default Today's poor grammar, spelling, and usage

Hey all, as a writer, I've really been noticing how bad grammar, spelling, and usage are these days. Now, it's really hard to tell whether things are getting worse than when I was growing up. I tend to think that it is since grammar used to be taught to my parents' generation, but not really at all to my generation. However, that's no excuse

So, I've started a series of blog posts on my blog (see below) that some people may find of interest or humour. I'll likely be posting on this at least a few times/week until I've gone through my long list of topics starting with my 2 biggest pet peeves

Check it out and we can discuss the state of today's grammar, spelling, and usage :p
    Last edited by babymick21; 18-Oct-2009 at 14:54.

Default Poor Spelling

I agree 100%. I think most of the spelling issues are a result of texting. Kids text and use many short cuts, ttyl, g2g, idk, brb, etc. The list could go on and on and those short cuts tend to be used in regular emails. Well, I went to a catholic school and if spelling was crucial. Anyways, just thought I would throw my 2 cents into this conversation. Happy Friday

Quote Originally Posted by AttendsBaby View Post
    I agree 100%. I think most of the spelling issues are a result of texting. Kids text and use many short cuts, ttyl, g2g, idk, brb, etc. The list could go on and on and those short cuts tend to be used in regular emails. Well, I went to a catholic school and if spelling was crucial. Anyways, just thought I would throw my 2 cents into this conversation. Happy Friday
    Actually, you're surprisingly wrong. There was a study recently published that got a bunch of press.

The Effect of Text Messaging on Spelling - Growing Kids (UK)