Diapers and Airport TSA

Status
Not open for further replies.

akm44

Est. Contributor
Role
  1. Diaper Lover
Hi everybody,

This is a topic that is brought up a lot but the specific question I have is not regarding wearing diapers through TSA but rather, having diapers in your bag. I am flying as a passenger (I am a pilot by profession) and want to bring some diapers with me. I have TSA Pre-check so I never get any additional security screening or get my bag checked.
My question: Do plastic backed diapers alone ever cause a bag check when they go through the scanner? I want to avoid having my diapers taken out of my bag and put on a table for the world to see. Any experiences and comments are greatly welcome.

Thank You

Never ever have I had my bag flagged for diapers. The only time it’s been an issue is when I forgot to take out my AC laptop charger or gels or something like that.

I had the same question a couple of weeks ago:

https://www.adisc.org/forum/showthread.php/113630-Do-diapers-show-up-on-x-ray-scanners

Although many answers were about wearing through security (off topic) you may still find some useful answers there. My conclusion was that no one knows for sure if they will get noticed, or can predict whether you will be searched for carrying diapers in your bag. But the TSA personnel doesn't care and they are very discrete about it.

That happened to me only once. Not because of the diapers though, but because of some powder I had at the bottom of the bag. I learned that lesson, lol.

All other times I carry 4-5 extra diapers in my carry on bag. (A standard back pack where one pouch is for diapers only) Sometimes they do an extra check for other items and may just open the bag and look, but I've never had them pull any of the diapers out.

I'm pretty sure you have the right to ask for any pat-down or bag-search to be conducted in a private room. Just ask.