Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone else with diabetes? Meal ideas?

Default Anyone else with diabetes? Meal ideas?

I was recently diagnosed with type 2 diabetes (which they found to be the cause of most of my incontinence but that's not what this topic is about which is why this is in the off topic forum)

I guess this topic is looking for meal ideas and ways to manage. I am used to eating whatever junk I want, whenever I want, and I guess that's what got me where I am!

For breakfast this morning I had a banana, a mini waffle, and a small iced coffee drink, and my mom told me "ok, just don't eat another banana. Bananas are bad for you when you have diabetes" uhhh WHAT? In what universe is fruit BAD?

I've got a lot to learn.

I'm sorry to hear about your diagnosis. o.o

I'm not a doctor nor do I myself have diabetes, but several friends and family members have dealt with it. My mom was pre-diabetic for several years but is now considered healthy, go figure.

Generally you want to avoid carbs and processed foods as they cause spikes in blood sugar... foods high in protein work better at stabilizing that. If you'd like I can give you a recipe for chili that almost everyone enjoys.

EDIT: Oh, and eggs work well for breakfast. ^.^

Ooo chili! Is it made in the slow cooker? I love a good chili and a good slow cooker recipe lol

Quote Originally Posted by pgfdp View Post
    Ooo chili! Is it made in the slow cooker? I love a good chili and a good slow cooker recipe lol
    I typically use a stovetop. I stir it about every 15 to 20 minutes while it's simmering, and I let it simmer for at least 2 hours. I suppose it might be possible to translate it to a slow-cooker recipe, but it works rather well as it is. ^^;