Thread: Interviewing: How do I ace it for the job?

Default Interviewing: How do I ace it for the job?

Hi everyone,

I love this forum because we have members from all walks of life, and therefore all kinds of experience. I have been applying for jobs for quite sometime, and I have had some interviews, but no job offers. I received an email for a position that I would really love to have, but I am feeling a little nervous on the interview, as it will be my 5th, and I have still yet to have an offer. I was wondering what advice members might have that can help in acing interviews?

thanks

Can you tell us the general field? I'm a lawyer, so in a vacuum, I'd probably advise you to do things like dress nicely, research the job well and ask thoughtful questions, and be polite and formal. On the other hand, I've heard stories of people interviewing for jobs like game design where showing up in a character t-shirt and jeans is what landed them the job because they had a great conversation with the interviewer about liking the same cartoons. So, field matters.

I would suggest the following, that apply to any interview ever, though. First, do a little research. What is required for the job? What kind of work are they expecting you to do? With whom? If you can't figure it out, those become good things to ask at the end of the interview (but if you could have just googled it, then you look a little silly, which is why you have to check first). Also, go there and pay attention to the person with whom you're interviewing. Regardless of how casual or formal the interview is, the person on the other end will care that you gave them your full attention.

You want to be confident not, cocky or, arrogant...

Don't apologize or say "sorry" for normal natural, non-harmful things such as, being a little nervous or anxious. It interrupts the flow and, is distracting as well as, it tends to come-off as self-deprecating...